Family Caregiving, Compassion Fatigue, Elder Abuse

Learning Objective:

By the end of this chapter, you will be able to:

  1. Explain the 5 types of abuse as defined by the CNO and understand its implications for clients (neglect, physical, verbal/emotional, financial, sexual).
  2. Discuss compassion fatigue and its implications for safe, quality care delivery.
  3. Discuss the role of the nurse as a client advocate.
  4. Describe the mandatory reporting requirements for health professionals in Ontario.


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License

Professional Practice in Nursing: Part I Copyright © 2022 by Roya Haghiri-Vijeh; Kateryna Metersky; Jasmine Balakumaran; Oona St-Amant; Leigh Dybenko; Emilene Reisdorfer; Linda Scott; and Anita Jennings is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book